2015 International Historic Motoring Awards

If you are a classic car enthusiast then you can have a say in the upcoming International Historic Motoring Awards. Due to close on September 1st the online survey is looking for aficionado’s to submit their nominations for the Car of the Year.

Launched four years ago, these awards acknowledge and celebrate the achievements of the worldwide historic motoring industry. Comprising a total of 14 award categories ranging from Museum of the Year through to Motor Sport Event and Personal Achievement, the event will be judged by an international panel of experts.  

Historic cars play a big role in many areas of life. They could have featured in a movie, or been displayed at a major public event. A trio of cars from the Morgan Motor Company for instance were recently displayed at the Goodwood Festival of Speed. These vintage vehicles may also have played an important part in charity fundraising or even be included in a larger collection.

Amongst all of those cars could be the 2015 International Historic Motoring Awards' 2015 Car of the Year. The process is very interactive. When nominations have been received, a shortlist will be drawn up, and the winner will be decided by public vote via the Awards’ website.

Previous winners have included the Birkin Bentley Porsche, Type 54 Rekordwagen, and the Bugatti 57SC Aerolithe recreation. 

Last years’ winner was the Shelby Cobra Daytona Coupe CSX2287, which in 2014 was the first car to be listed with The National Historic Registry of the United States.

In addition to the ‘Car of the Year’ (which closes September 1st) there are many other categories to influence too.  Historic motoring enthusiasts have until October 1st to suggest winners for:

  • Club of the Year  
  • Industry Supporter of the Year
  • Lifetime Achievement  
  • Motoring Event of the Year  
  • Motorsport Event of the Year  
  • Museum or Collection of the Year
  • Personal Achievement of the Year  
  • Publication of the Year 
  • Race Series of the Year
  • Rally of the Year
  • Restoration of the Year
  • Specialist of the YearTour of the Year

Presented in association with EFG Private Bank and Octane magazine, nominations and more information can be found at www.historicmotoringawards.com.

The winners of the International Historic Motoring Awards 2015 will be announced at a gala dinner in London on Thursday 19th November at the luxurious St Pancras Renaissance Hotel.  ​​

By Tracey McBain